why beginners should join the tech community

·

3 min read

when I started my journey in full stack development I was overwhelmed with plenty of resources on the internet. There were gazillions of youtube videos, documentation websites, bootcamps, and whatnot. Initially, I had no mentor, no friends, and no community. I thought I didn't need anyone and asking for help would embarrass me.

how tutorial hell wasted my time

  • I started with w3schools

  • switched to freecodecamp

  • switched to a youtube course

  • switched back to freecodecamp

  • switched to some other random youtube course

I kept switching from one course to another for one long year until I realized I was in tutorial hell.

one day I was scrolling Twitter and came across the #100devs community for full-stack development. The fact that it was free made me sign up instantly.

what is #100devs

#100devs is a full-stack development bootcamp but there is a huge community attached to it that makes it so special. There are people from all walks of their life trying to learn, connect and help each other.

  • It is a community by Leon Noel and he believes education should be free hence all the classes, resources, and discord community access is free of cost.
  • There are live classes twice every week and on Sunday there is office hour where you chill and ask questions.

what makes the #100devs community different from others

  • It is one of the most inclusive communities which respects people from all countries, backgrounds, races, ethnicity, and gender.

  • You get free resources for learning hence you don't have to waste your time looking for resources online. bye, bye tutorial hell:)

  • Almost all the questions get answered otherwise in big communities your questions get lost. Some people are behind you, on your level, or ahead of you in learning. hence all of you can get benefit from each other.

  • There are channels dedicated to mental health, lgbtq+, and women in tech.

  • you can start, pause, or resume your learning at any point in time without any restrictions. And this is where the catch-up crew channel comes to the rescue. People who are behind the course can ask for help on this channel. I think this is the most active channel in the community. Also, it shows how welcoming the community is.

  • You get to make group projects which is amazing as you get the experience of a team without any job.

  • You get to network with your fellow.

  • There are channels where you can have fun and chillax as everybody needs a break.

nutshell

In nutshell as a beginner you get this amazing opportunity to learn development, make friends, network, and work on your soft skills, and opportunities because of a community.